Day Trip’n

My original thought was to try and find Webber Lake, a place were my father had camped as a boy and where he had taken his family to camp years later as a grown man. I knew Webber Lake had been purchased by a private party and you couldn’t get in there anymore but recently I heard it was re-opening to the public. As it turns out, it won’t re-open to the public until next year.  So, detour to Independence Lake a short dirt road drive just off of Hwy 89 outside of Truckee, CA. Read about it here ->http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/nevada/placesweprotect/independence-lake.xml

With our picnic lunch in hand daddy and I trekked up the small ridge that overlooked the lake. The smell of pine was in the air and the air was cold and it was threatening to rain. We had the entire lake to ourselves. We worked fast to get out our ham sandwiches and corn chips. We decided lunch was going to be a quick deal because the wind created a chill factor that made lingering pretty uncomfortable. We managed to last long enough to eat and swill down a beer. We took our time driving back out and the weather was warmer once we got away from the lake. Daddy was having a great time exploring and he kept saying, “I think I’ve been here before.” I reminded him that he had, many times and I said, “See, you haven’t forgotten everything.” He just smiled and picked up a big granite rock to take home. (Click once on image to enlarge for full view)

Independence Lake-16 Independence Lake-14 Independence Lake-13 Independ. Lake resize 2 Independence Lake-12 - resize 3 Indep. Lake resize 1_DSC1252 (3)

Logging Lodge, Hobart Mills, 2 - resize 11 Logging Lodge, Hobart Mills - resize 12

Independence Lake-20  Independence Lake-24 Independence Lake-25 Independence Lake-27 Independence Lake-31 - resize 8 Independence Lake-32 - resize 9 Independence Lake-35 - resize 10

4 Comments

June 7, 2015 · 2:16 am

4 responses to “Day Trip’n

  1. What a pleasant outing with your Daddy. So nice to enjoy these things when you know this could be the last time (another Beatles song) with your parent(s). Lovely photos too. I went on a photo expedition for a few days, I must blog about them.

    Enjoy your summer…it’s getting hot, hot, hot!

    Like

  2. Hi Rob, thank you for viewing and commenting. It was a great day with my dad. Not sure if I mentioned to you that he has Alzheimer’s so each day he remembers me is a gift.
    I look forward to what you post about your photo expedition. I’ve considered doing that myself so I’m interested in what you thought and if you thought it was worth the money.
    We are off to Oregon soon (cooler weather hopefully) and perhaps I’ll get some good shots to share.
    Happy shooting!

    Like

    • My Mother has Dementia. Have been dealing with it for six years, which is why I related to your outing with your dad. My photo expedition wasn’t one of those paid things, it was just a trip down to Pescadero for a few days. I went to school there and know the area well. You’ll only find cooler weather on the Coast of Oregon. My daughter said yesterday it was 101 in Grants Pass.

      So far I’ve only posted photos to my Facebook pages…get more feedback there. One is Rob Tillitz, the other is Photography by Rob Tillitz.

      Have a great Summer!

      Like

  3. Lizzy

    Teensy, your photos move me! Love you and Daddy so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

